Chocolate Cup Cake

April 21, 2009 at 1:24 pm Leave a comment

I saw this recipe on the web a few days ago and got extremely excited. The oven in our house isn’t working, so obviously baking is out of the question, but sometimes I get this sudden urge to have chocolate cake (and living in I-8 means I’m pretty far from your regular bakeries).

Anyway, a friend said I should let him know if the recipe works. (I mean, it sounds too good to be true. If it was that easy to make chocolate cakes in the oven, I would’ve heard about it earlier.) I got his message today and decided to give it a whirl.

Recipe (in case you’re too lazy to click the link above)

4 tablespoons flour

4 tablespoons sugar

2 tablespoons cocoa powder

1 egg

3 tablespoons vegetable oil

3 tablespoons milk

3 tablespoons chocolate chips (optional)

a splash of vanilla extract

Put it all in one big mug (and you need a large mug for this), mix it really well and put it in a microwave on high heat for 3 minutes.

It was fascinating watching the cake rise. Like literally, rise! My mom’s cook and I both thought that it was going to rise so much the cake was going to topple, but it didn’t. I’d say that about 30% of the cake was out of the mug (so maybe I should use a larger mug next time).

There were a few issues with it. Firstly, it was kinda tough/plasticy in it’s taste. I think I mixed too much. I was worried that the oil wasn’t mixed in well enough so I might’ve gone overboard with mixing it in really well. Also, it wasn’t very sweet, but maybe that’s coz I didn’t add the vanilla extract (didn’t have any at the time). Thirdly, it was too much cake. I felt like I’d had too much half-way through eating it, but me being me, I finished the whole thing and now feel sick/want to lie down somewhere and sleep.

Anyway, I’d definitely try it again. I think I’ll add the vanilla extract next time and mix a little less. Plus maybe I’ll use a larger mug.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: .

Toilet Training Progress Dear Mr. Asif Zardari,

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Twitter


