Post Traumatic Stress Disorder

June 25, 2009 at 6:09 pm 3 comments

I swear, I feel like I’m suffering from PTSD. I spent over seven hours in the kitchen today (it’s like 40 degrees nowadays, much hotter in the kitchen) and all I managed to make was a mess.

I now know exactly what I did wrong (hindsight = 20/20). Here is a laundry list:

– To start with, I didn’t have the right cake pan. The one I have has a hole in (I think it’s called a bunt? pan). Anyway, that’s where the trouble started. The layers kept getting stuck to the bottom and kinda fell apart when I was getting them out.

– Then I didn’t freeze the layers as recommended. I just let them cool in the fridge for a while

– I used the frosting at a cooled state, when it should have been room temperature

These reasons are why the cake looks like it does (like a bomb went off in it, and I tried to cover it with chocolate). There were some taste issues, mostly that it’s really heavy (really, really) and that there is too much sugar in the peanut butter frosting.

Will I try it again? Maybe, someday. Not with three layers, maybe just two. But not for another two odd months. I’m going back to brownies/cookies for a while.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , .

Peanut Butter & Chocolate Cake Summer vacations

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Gursimran  |  June 26, 2009 at 4:41 am

    why is your blog becoming like cosmopolitan magazine? cakes..magazines…waiting for the 10 ways to pleasure him/her section 😛

    Reply
    • 2. nidarasheed  |  June 26, 2009 at 6:09 am

      It’s easier to write about mundane stuff than about real feelings. 🙂

      Reply
  • […] go into the details of it, but my traumatic experience of baking it can be found here and here. In short, the cake tasted great, but looked nothing like it was supposed to. Still, not being one […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Twitter


