Banana Bread

July 11, 2009 at 10:59 pm 2 comments

Once, when I was a kid…alright, not really a kid, but in A-levels and still very much in awe of people who could make things like bread and muffins, a friend’s mom made Banana Bread and I was like, this is the shit! Combining two of my favorite things, bananas and well, flour 🙂 seemed genius. I couldn’t wait to bake it myself.

Fast forward to some 7 years later and the day finally arrived. Two days ago, I made Banana Bread in just under half an hour (not counting baking time). Turned out pretty good, and I am mucho pleased with myself and looking to now bake some Chocolate Chip & Peanut Butter Bread tomorrow (on Api’s request). Now if only I could figure out a way to finish off all the stuff I bake without having to eat it myself…

Banana Bread
Allrecipes.com

Ingredients:

  • 2 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 1/2 cup butter
  • 3/4 cup brown sugar
  • 2 eggs, beaten
  • 2 1/3 cups mashed overripe bananas (I used just 4, that’s all I had, still turned out great)

Directions:

My patience being what it is, I didn’t really read the instructions and went ahead mixing everything in randomly, but not over mixing it as I might have done in the past. The bread turned out great (I don’t have a bread machine, but this wasn’t the kinda mixture you need to knead anyway).

I suppose you could make it the intended way, dry ingredients mixed separately, butter and sugar creamed in one bowl with eggs and mashed bananas added in and finally all the wet ingredients added to the dry, but it seems like a waste of effort to me. It needs to cook for about 60 minutes at 350 degrees F.

Next on my list of things to bake are the Chocolate Syrup Brownies (again, but with the Chocolate/Peanut Butter Ganache from the Chocolate & Peanut Butter Cake), Chocolate Chip and Peanut Butter Bread, and Chocolate Chocolate Chip Cupcakes (I think).

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: .

Summer vacations Chocolate Chip & Peanut Butter Bread

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Banana Muffins « do0dle do0dle  |  August 10, 2009 at 8:44 am

    […] recently and my mind immediately sprung into what-will-I-bake-them-into mode. After having made Banana Bread I was looking to go through my list of Banana Muffins recipes and this seemed like the perfect […]

    Reply
  • 2. Banana Muffins « one stick at a time…  |  January 11, 2010 at 4:54 pm

    […] recently and my mind immediately sprung into what-will-I-bake-them-into mode. After having made Banana Bread I was looking to go through my list of Banana Muffins recipes and this seemed like the perfect […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Twitter


