Homemade Oreos

August 12, 2009 at 8:52 am Leave a comment

Aah, oreos. I’ve been known to down a pack or two at a time, and the numbers just double if you add some milk to dunk them in. Still, when I saw the website for homemade oreos on Smitten Kitchen, I knew I must try it out, regardless of how much flab I still need to sweat off of me.

The entire process took me one and a half hour, which is way more time that it would’ve taken had I had access to an actual cookie baking sheet, a food processor and a decent oven. Still, I baked the cookies in batches of 12, with a total of 4 batches. Now while my (admittedly weak) math says that should have yielded 24 cookies, I only managed to make 21. Go figure..

The original recipe says you can reduce the sugar if you want the actual cookie to be slightly salty, but I didn’t (reduce sugar, what?!, blasphemy!) so the cookies are very sweet. Still, they taste yummy and I don’t think they’ll survive more than a few hours in this house.

For the cookies:

– 1.25 cups flour

– 1/2 cup cocoa

– 1 teaspoon baking soda

– 1/4 teaspoon baking powder

– 1/4 teaspoon salt

– 1.5 cups sugar (you can reduce this to 1 cup too)

– 5 ounces butter

– 1 large egg

For Filling:

– 1/2 cup (4 ounces) butter

– 2 cups sifted powdered sugar (which I had) or confectioners’ sugar (which is what the recipe called for)

– 2 teaspoons vanilla extract

Preheat oven to 375°F. (Anyone who’s read my whining before knows that I have NO idea what temperature my oven is on since the numbers are all faded and it doesn’t work properly)

Using a food processor (or your hand, like I did) mix the flour, cocoa, baking soda, baking powder, salt and sugar. Add butter and egg until the dough comes together.

 IMG_0221

Take teaspoonfuls of batter and place on baking sheet. I did this two different ways. The first time I placed it and then flattened the crap out of the cookies, making them too large and very thin and soft. The second time, I barely pressed them with my fingers, just to take the complete-roundness out of them, this worked better. Make sure you place them about 2 inches apart, otherwise they will expand, stick to each other and make you want to kill yourself. Bake for 9 minutes and then cool completely (completely!!) before handling. IMG_0224

For the filling, mix the butter, sugar and vanilla together till the mixture is light and fluffy.  Put into a pastry piping bag (or clean plastic bag, like I did) and cut the end off.

Place all the cooled cookies in a row, making sure you know which ones are the same size (so important!). Place as much frosting as you want (recipe says teaspoon-sized blobs, I put tablespoon sized blobs) on one cookie, place the other cookie on top and lightly press.

IMG_0225

Voila…homemade oreos. In two hours or less. You can keep them in an airtight container for three days or so, if they survive that long.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: .

Banana Muffins Who IS this chick?

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Twitter

  • RT @TahaSSiddiqui: Tonite some busy with burials. Some busy with a 2 day long ongoing sit-in. Majority busy shopping for chaand raat. Such… 10 hours ago
  • RT @mahnoorie: Looking for immigrants/expats to talk about what it means to be Pakistani abroad for a podcast. (plz RT for signal boost) 1 day ago
  • RT @Babar_Sattar: Those who allege legal fraternity lacks 'will' to reform are wrong. We've resolved to reform everyone but ourselves: http… 2 days ago
  • RT @asadaly_: Wow! Wow! Fahad Mustafa on ARY just called out all the "moti moti auntiyan" and a bunch of women just volunteered. Shameless 2 days ago
  • RT @themaholupper: I fucking fail to understand why you think your god gives a shit twitter.com/abeerii12/stat… 2 days ago

